Opto22 / OptoServer OPC set up

Im new to Ignition and OPC servers/clients in general but i understand how they work in principle. Im looking for some information and helpful hints on Opto22’s built in OPC server and how to get it to work with Ignition.

so far, i have 2 laptops with Win7 X64, both have the full opto22 suite and one has Ignition (trial mode). I set OptoServer up on the 2nd machine and connected it over Ethernet to a snap-pac controller and it seems to see it ok. on the first machine, i have been trying to get ignition to connect to the OPC server on laptop 2 but i cant for the life of me figure out how to set it up. i have Ignition connected to an A/B CompactLogix (also on the network) and i can see and interact with its tags no problem.

end game, will be to purchase a site license of ignition, and move the entire thing to a stand alone server with HMI’s deployed at various operator stations. Right now, the entire building is full of over 2 dozen independent systems and we are working to set up a centralized system of monitoring and reporting. about 1/3rd of the systems are opto22 based and another third are A/B systems. the rest are various proprietary controllers that will be dealt with later.

If anyone knows of some guides to help get me started on interfacing Ignition with OptoServer, links or replies would be very welcomed. I have already read all the opto22/OptoServer documentation which is how i got OptoServer set up and talking with a controller in the first place, but getting an OPC server and OPC test client from the same Manufacturer running on one machine is quite different from getting it running with Ignition from a seperate machine.

THANKS in advance!

Hi,

In general, what you’re up against is the infamous “DCOM Config” that plays into remote OPC connections. If you search the forum here for “DCOM”, you’ll find lots of info, and in general searching google should result in lots of whitepapers and guides.