Passing data between windows

I am still playing with your software. So far I find it fairly functional and friendly but as a beginner I stumble on something every now and then.

I have created a window where the user can assemble a dataset by selecting columns (thanks for the help!) from a couple of tables and restrict number of values based on date/time. He can then study this data in table format and a couple of statistical values. I have also created some windows containing the different chart types that you support (one per window) and a button on the main window for calling up each chart window. So far everything works fine.

I am, however, unable to find a working solution to passing the selection parameters to the child window containing the chart. The passed parameters should also update dynamically to reflect any modifications to selections on the parent window.

I have tried to read up on the documentation but I have not found anything that could be viewed as “global” (project common) data. I have also tried to use the parameter passing options available to fpmi.gui.openWindow (not dynamic I know) but I get barked at as soon as I reference variable data from the main window. I would like to stay away from using the SQL database for the parameters since such a solution will then need to handle a varying number of simultaneous users.

Sorry for being so long winded. A native English speaker could probably have described this in 5 or less lines.

Hope you can point me in the right direction!

Regards

/T

You definitely can do this by using passed parameters in windows. You are getting “barked at” simply because you are doing something wrong syntactically. If you post your script, I can take a look at it for you.

You should also check out this thread that talks about this very issue (passing parameters to a window based on table selection) http://www.inductiveautomation.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=436