Perspective Button, Auto Click Every Minute

I would like to have a Button. The button has the script configured on Action Performed. How can I configure button so that action performed script runs every 1 minute without clicking the button.
I have seen Timer and doClick() function used to achieve similar thing in Vision Module.

What would be the best practices to do such thing in Perspective Module.

1. Move your button logic into a script library.
  2. Call your script every minute from a Gateway Event Timer Script.
5 Likes

Hi zacht,

Thank you for your answer.

I am fairly new to Python and Ignition as a whole. I want to run the script and queries based on the selection I get from the Dropdown menu on that particular view. So, my script uses a lot of getValue or getText from other component.
Can you suggest me some ways to handle these things from Project Script Library. Is there other alternative ways to do it.

Do you need to run this in more than once at a time (once for every active session) or just once across the whole gateway?

Assuming the latter, you could bind the dropdowns to memory tags and read the values into your script using system.tag.readBlocking.

If you need to run an instance of the script for every session that's running you might be able to put something together with system.perspective.getSessionInfo and system.util.sendMessage.

My question is, why do you need to call the script periodically?
Can you post your script so we have an idea of what you're trying to do, as I suspect you should be going about it in a different way

Hi nminchin,

We have same type of machines numbered from 1 to 15. Each machine has same type of dashboard containing Downtime Table, Waste Table, OEE Charts etc. We have used the Sepasoft MES Analysis to get the Downtime data.