Perspective Input/Output Parameters and embedded views

Hi,

I am new to Ignition and messing around with stuff a bit over my head so excuse me if I get terminology and such wrong, I’m trying.

Today’s problem is I have a template of an analog indicator. I would like to use it several times in embedded views on a page. I am trying to figure out how parameters function, they don’t seem to be working the way I expect or want. In the analog indicator template I have several parameters in the PARAMS section for Tag, EGU, and decimal points. EGU and decimal points are a sub-tag buried in the root Tag parameter of the indicator template.

Tag:
EGU: {Tag}/PV/Cfg_EU
Decimal_Points: {Tag}/PV/PVDec_Plcs

The various bits of the indicator then use these for display configuration.

The embedded view has the same parameters under the PROPS section. I would like to be able to just enter the base tag here and have the other components link to the relative path. That way I can use it for different instruments without having to change anything but the base tag. the relative tag structure is the same underneath so it should pull the correct values if I can get the links working right.

Embedded View

PROPS
Path: path to indicator template
Params
Tag: (enter base instrument tag here)

First big question, from the point of view of the Analog Indicator Template an “Input Parameter” will receive the value placed into the same parameter in the embedded view?

Second question, is what I am trying to do possible, recommended or am I totally off base?

Thanks,
Jason

1. Yes, the template view you create with an input parameter defined will receive the value you assign to the props.params.(paramName) property of the same view when it is embedded elsewhere.