Perspective Layout Inconsistent from Chrome to Firefox (and the fix)

I was having my screen layout vary from Chrome to Firefox. The screen I’m loading is using a flex layout to slide frames around based on screen size.

On Firefox the scrollbars were appearing as I expected. Chrome was squashing all the frames to fit on a single screen and giving a scroll bar to each frame. I might be using the wrong webdev terminology. I’m not a web developer.

Anyway, I did an update on my Chrome browser and the problem went away.

I wanted to say something in case it is helpful to others.

General idea is to try a browser update if things aren’t laying out as you expect.

2 Likes

Hi Steve,

Thanks for info. Any idea of what version of Chrome you were using before the update?

-Yousuf

Sorry, I don’t know. It was probably pretty old because I didn’t realize it doesn’t update on its own. This computer is maybe 6 months old so it would be about that far back.

Hi,

Good enough. I’ll do some digging into the change-logs and see if I can discover something that might have caused the issue you were seeing. If so, perhaps there is a way to mitigate this from happening to others.

-Yousuf

Reviving a bit of an old thread since it seems like what I might be dealing with on my side again.

In Firefox, I’m getting a scroll bar for my docked menu, but in chrome it fits everything fine.

Chrome: Version 78.0.3904.108
Firefox Version: 71.0

Hmm I seem to have fixed it by turning off wrapping for my flex container. I didn’t actually need it enabled anymore, but that may help point to the difference between the two browsers, so I figured I’d add it.

Another thing that can sometimes help with this (situational) is to adjust the overflow styles on objects within your page.