Perspective - SVG, CSS Javascript, 3rd party for animating movment from tags

Greetings everyone. I am new to Ignition. I have been working with HMI system for 10 years but mostly with Cimplicity. Which comes to my question or need some guidance. In Cimplicity one could draw and create anything with a box and circle, group them and you could animate movement in X Y direction would some clicks. In Ignition on the other hand i am having some issues of finding the "best" way to make a picture or a drawing move across the screen according to a tag/signals from OPC UA. Lets say i want to make a circle move from point A to point B from a tag/signal from the OPC UA.

Just need some help where to start, i am fairly new to JavaScript, JSON, SVG and CSS, i know some basic Python.

A Cimplicity client is a local application. An Ignition Perspective client is a browser. They are so fundamentally different that you will need to pretend your Cimplicity experience doesn't exist.

That's fine. Part of Perspective's design philosophy is to minimize the need to understand web technologies. Minimize, not eliminate. Ignition's free online training is the best place to start.

Be prepared for a shock. First, Ignition uses Jython, not Python, which is the language but not the extended ecosystem. And its syntax is v2.7, not v3.x. But it enables direct use of Java's standard library and any loaded extensions, which is a really big deal for Ignition.

If you prefer to work with something conceptually closer to Cimplicity, consider using Ignition Vision. Its clients, like Cimplicity, are a local application, and Java Swing, the foundation for Vision the way MS Forms is the foundation for Cimplicity, supports similar design patterns and UI tricks. Of course, this option only matters if your situation permits you to use Vision. In some ways, it is now the "red-headed stepchild" of the Ignition world.

Anyways, start with Inductive University.

4 Likes