Pointers to implementing a new Tag-Historian for Apache IoTDB?

Hi,
I am currently working hard on getting Apache IoTDB deployed on various platforms, that would benefit from a high performant time-series DB. As part of this, would I love to implement a Tag-Historian extension for IoTDB for Ignition. As IoTDB is implemented in Java, running it inside Ignition would also be an option.

As I am really new to Ignition (even if I did have contact with it at a previous employer) I would really appreciate some pointers to APIs, documentation regarding the development of a Tag-Historian for Ignition.

From what I've read here in the forum, the pretty unique way IoTDB stores data, would eliminate moste of the disadvantages of storing data in a tag-historian.

Here some pretty fresh benchmark results that were done by an independent company:
https://benchant.com/blog/apache-iotdb-performance

Help greatly appreciated,
Chris

1 Like

Welcome Christofer,
are you the man behind apache plc4x ?

https://plc4x.apache.org/

The most relevant ressources for Ignition SDK are:

Perhaps this repo can be interesting for implementing tag Historian

A new major version of Ignition 8.3 is on the road for the end of this year.
Some API refactor could occur around Tag historian.
Perhaps @PGriffith could give you some clarifications.

Expect significant refractors to the tag historian interfaces in 8.3.0. I wouldn't start a greenfield project until mid 2024, when we're expecting to have API changes finalized or at least close to so module authors can start developing against the new version of the platform.

1 Like

Awww! I have one in mind...

But, if you make it possible to select historians in the tag editor that don't use the SQLTAGS data flavor, I suppose it will be worth the wait.

Hi,

guilty as charged :wink: ... yeah Apache PLC4X is my baby, indeed ... new big update coming pretty soon :wink:

Thanks for the pointers. They will definitely help a lot.