Populating a Table With a Text File

I’m a student programmer, and most of my experience is limited to C++ and Perl. Although Factory PMI is a great designer, I’m having a little trouble getting used to it.

In my project, I’d like to load a table with values from a text file when the user starts the program. This is what I have in my global startup script:

[quote]filename = “V:\API Manuals\MPMS\Chapter 11 (Physical Properties Data)\API_Correction_60.txt”;

if fileExists(filename):
bytes = fpmi.file.readFileAsBytes(filename)
[/quote]

How do I load those bytes into the table?

Could you provide a sample of the data? If it’s not comma (or something similar) separated/delimited, you may want to use another component such as a Document Viewer.

First of all - it sounds very strange to load data from a file into a database when a client starts up. I just want to make sure that you understand our architecture, that is, the database is global and you typically have multiple clients started at once.

That said, assuming you have a good reason to do this or are doing it just as an exercise, read on.

I gather from your document name (ending in “.txt”) that this is a text file, so the fpmi.file.readFileAsBytes probably isn’t appropriate. You should use fpmi.file.readFileAsString. Once you read the file as a string, how you load it into the database is highly dependent on what the file looks like. For the sake of example, lets say it has some data as comma separated values. You might load it up like this:

contents = fpmi.file.readFileAsString(filename) values = contents.split(",") for value in values: fpmi.db.runUpdateQuery("INSERT INTO MyTable (MyColumn) VALUES ('%s')" % value)

Hope this helps,

Thanks for your help so far!

I’m actually allowing the user to load a strapping table from a file. The file type probably won’t be a text file, but I’m just testing right now.

test.txt:

[quote]0-0-0 0.0
0-1-2 69.0
0-3-8 120.0
0-3-14 144.0[/quote]