Power Table - Text Entry Question Concerning Text Wrap

Displaying text wrap in our Power Table is working fine.

How or can we apply text wrap when an operator is entering text. The pic below is what our tables currently look like.

You’d have to implement a custom table cell editor, that’s using something like a JTextArea rather than a JTextField. You’ll have to be moderately comfortable in Java Swing.

1 Like

I’m not experienced with Java Swing.
So I can do some experimenting, where is this custom table editor? Would I put it in the Component Scripting under Extension Function configureCell or is this something completely different?

configureEditor, rather than configureCell. You need to return some implementation of the TableCellEditor interface. Java comes with a DefaultCellEditor, but it only supports using a combobox, a check box, or a text field, which can only edit a single line. I looked through our codebase, but couldn’t find anywhere we’re creating a multiline cell editor that you could just import, so you’d have to do it yourself.

Thank you.
I found a Topic you helped someone else solve that had to do with Java.Swing.
I've been experimenting with this advice and attempting to understand the teaching from JavaTpoint tutorial.

Yeah, that’s the rough model. One problem is that you won’t be able to subclass DefaultCellEditor directly, so you’ll have to subclass TableCellEditor (or AbstractCellEditor) directly and implement the required methods.

PGriffith, If you have a moment I could use a hand with this one. It’s not crucial to the project but it is bugging me. I’ve been “playing” with the javax.swing TableCellEditor and I’m receiving no errors but I’m also not getting the results I’m after.

The script below is in my current PowerTable’s Component Scripting configureEditor.
I have stripped it down to what I think is the bare minimum (believe me, it grew and got jumbled in a hurry).
Can you steer me in the right direction?