Propagating edits in a table using cell update

I am new to Ignition, please be kind to this rookie.

I have a properly populated tag structure built with nested UDTs. The data from the PLC I am connecting to is properly read. I can also type in values in the tags, which are properly written to the PLC.

I have created a window with a custom property, the type of which is one of the UDTs. I have bound this custom property “bidirectional” to a tag in the tree. In the window, I have created a table (and a Power Table) and used a “cell update” binding to create bindings to parts of the custom property. The values are properly displayed and updated (the bindings work). I have marked some columns as available for edit, and I am able to type in values in these columns.

The problem is that the value I type is in not propagated back to the original tag, and the displayed value immediately reverts to whatever is in the “parent” tag. Essentially, the data is read-only even if values can be typed in the cells.

In the Power Table, I have enabled the “onCellEdited” function and uncommented the last two lines as suggested in another forum post, which does not have the result I am after. I have also added a few “print” statements to make sure the event fires (it does).

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Fred

I don’t believe cell update bindings can be bidirectional.

BTW, that’s a really ambiguous username…

Sorry about the username, this was probably inferred from the special purpose email I used to register and I did not notice. I changed it.

1 Like

About the cell update bindings not being bidirectional, this is a bit surprising (to me as a newbie) after being exposed to other Ignition mechanisms. It seems it “should” work in a plug-and-play manner (as an optional behavior).

Is there a way to have the cell editing event identify the source of the data, and write to it?