Property change scripting

Hi, Im having trouble with my scripting for the visibility of a component.
I am new to ignition and just a beginner on scripting so any advice would be great!

My goal is to make the alarm status table on my docked window to become visible = false, when a certain “Alarms” window is the current main window viewed (or the root container of it is visible).
Currently I have tried the following statement on property change of the component, but I keep getting an error:

#To get other window's visibility property
AlarmWin = system.gui.getWindow("Alarm")
if ({AlarmWin.rootContainer.visible}) == true:
#if statement conditions the visibility of the component
        AlarmDock = system.gui.getwindow("Footer")
{AlarmDock.rootContainer.getComponent("Alarm Status Table").visible} = false

The error is when I run vision on this project saying that there is an error running this script, hence the visibility is not affected.

Please and thank you!

Few things:

1. Edit your post to include code formatting markers instead the “quote” block. Should look like this in your editor:
    ```
    Pasted Code
    ```
    Yes, those are reverse single quotes, three at a time, above and below your code.

2. propertyChange events run for pretty much every property on that component. You must nest all code within some form of if event.propertyName == 'someProp': so that it only runs for the specific property you care about. Not Optional.

3. We aren’t mind readers–we don’t know what error you are getting. Post it too, pasting it with formatting markers just like a code block.

1 Like

What Phil said.
Also, you can’t use {AlarmWin.rootContainer.visible}, you should have seen squiggly red lines beside that code in the editor to indicate this.