Pulling DateTime from AB PLC

Hello all,

I’m trying to do some simple data collection on an automated cell and I’m having an issue with what info to pull from the PLC to create a Timestamp in Ignition. I know Ignition has a built-in timestamp feature but I want to store the timestamp from when the part went into the machine.

I’m new to Python/Java/SQL programming so this may be a simple thing, but I’m beating my head against the wall trying to figure this out.

Thanks in advance!

I’m not really sure why you want to pull the time from the PLC. When you do that you have to assume the PLC’s time is accurate. Personally I would use the time in ignition. I’m assuming your trying to collect data through out your process and write it all in one shot but if you have set points that you need to collect data you can use update queries to fill in data as your process is running. If your not comfortable with SQL your best bet would probably be using transaction groups that you set to execute on a trigger.

We’re going to try to use a Store and Forward method so we’ll have a ThinClient on-site near the machine that will pass information through to the database. This would be in case our network goes down for some reason we don’t want to lose the information we’ve gathered. From what I understand if I’m using the time from Ignition it would only take a timestamp of when the information was sent to the database and not when the information was pulled from the PLC.

I’m not positive how the timestamp works for store and forward but you could always do an extra data point that is a date/time and is not the timestamp. You can set up an expression item in the transaction group that is the current time. Even if the timestamps works the way you described this would be treated as regular data that should be stored and forwarded as it was at the time of the trigger.

If you want to pull a timestamp from the PLC: