[Question] Are there step-by-step Instructions (for dummies) on how to create vision components?

Hello Volunteer Experts.

I’ve read a lot of the Ignition SDK Programmer’s Guide, a few times, and I’m still having trouble getting started. If you haven’t guessed yet I’m not a professional software architect or software developer, I’m a not-so-typical automation engineer. As far as I can tell I’ve installed all the required software per the instructions (Git, Maven, Netbeans 12.4 for my IDE…changed the default JDK from 16 to 11 etc.) and its all working. Following the Ignition vision-component example I thought I could use this as a template and expected to find some Java classes that I would edit in the Swing design tab but only source tabs exist. How to I start? I cloned ignition-module-tools from GitHub but don’t know what to do with them. Most of you clever folks know this inside and out…is there some kind of template or step-by-step guide for newbies? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks again,
Ted.

The panel extends a swing jpanel…so how come there isn’t a .form file? It’s been 10+ years since writing Java applications…what am I missing?

I by no means know what I’m talking about here, but IA moved from Maven to Gradle. The sdk is a bit outdated I think

Internally, and the new Perspective example uses Gradle, but you can use whatever build system you want. They're just dependencies and the module file is just a zip file in the end. The Maven plugin we published still works just fine.

1 Like

.form files are generated by the NetBeans GUI builder and aren't a feature of Java itself. We're IDE agnostic, so no .form files.

Idk if you’ve been here yet? I too am trying to get into module development. It feels like a tall order. But, so did ignition itself. When I started.

Seems like someone could make a course on Udemy or something. Feels like enough people are there wanting to learn…

Would that I had all the time in the world :slight_smile: