Raspberry Pi & Igniton Edge installation problems

Hi everyone,

I’m new to Raspberry/Linux, but I’m trying to get Ignition Edge running on a Raspberry Pi B+.
I’ve followed the instructions in this article from Ignition support.
All went wel until the step 5. No proces-ID returned, only “Warning: Ignition Gateway may have failed to start.”
When I type in sudo ./ignition.sh status, I receive “Ignition Gateway is not running.”

Anyone any ideas on this?
Help is very much appreciated!

Can you get the wrapper.log file from the logs directory? That should have more information in it.

Hi Kevin,

In the ./usr/local/ignition/logs/ folder are no log-files…
Any other places?

I restarted my Pi and now I get a text when starting up: “Segmentation Fault”

Segmentation fault is the same as a page fault: some piece of code trying to access memory it isn’t allowed to access. You’ll get this when you try to access a nullpointer f.e.

When exactly do you get your segmentation fault? During booting the OS or during ignition launching?
In Java, it’s very hard (or even impossible) to get a segmentation fault, as Java does all the memory handling. So either there’s something wrong with some other program, or the JRE you’re using has a bug. Do you use OpenJDK, or the Oracle one?

It might also be worth starting with a fresh installation once you run into these kinds of problems…

1 Like

I don’t think you can run it on a RaspPi B+ without some tweaks. I think the RAM on the B+ will be your biggest obstacle. With only 512MB, its a tight fit to get the gateway to even start.