Really event-driven SQL write

I have an PLC with integrated OPC UA Server and I like to write a value to a SQL Server on value change. It is possible with the transaction group but there is the delay from the timer (for example 250 ms). I there a possibility to trigger an SQL-write immediately (event-driven) when a OPC subscription delivers new data? Maybe with a script instead of a transaction group?

Thank you for a good hint!

Peter

1 Like

I suppose you could use a gateway event tag change script. Or did you try and there's a reason why it's not appropriate ?

Thank you. That could be a nice solution. I'm new in ignition and in the tutorials the transaction group is more atvertised. I had no knowledge about the tag change script.

To observe serveal PLCs what is the better way? One script for all that has an internal logic to find and process the triggered value. Or should I use a own independent script for every PLC?

One single gateway event script, you can set it up to monitor several tags.
The script itself will have access to the tag's value, name, path... so it should be flexible enough to handle several tags without making the script complex.

https://docs.inductiveautomation.com/display/DOC81/Gateway+Event+Scripts#GatewayEventScripts-ScriptTab

That being said, the transaction groups might be configurable enough to remove that delay.
Also, I probably should ask: Why is a small delay a problem ?

This is only the first step to get in touch with the DB communication. In a second step I will get some answer from the DB (if a part ist on the blacklist or not). And I think the sum of delays is the problem. I will have a litte delay from OPC UA and I will have a little delay from the DB. So I try to have a small as possible total delay because it can impact the cycle time of the maschine. What would be your advise for the transaction group? Set the timer as small as possible?