Recommended Approach for Displaying Third Party Images

I have read a few approaches here for displaying third party images in perspective. I would like to know if there is any approach that is favored?

Setup: I’m running Ignition Gateway Edge on Windows 10 as the HMI for a workcell. I am developing in perspective. I have a Cognex camera which is triggered through tags (OPC for new camera, Modbus for old camera) and drops images into a folder on the Gateway Machine.

Approaches:

• I can have the Ignition browser access the designated FTP folder but there are permissions and security issues with the browser accessing a local folder
  • I can have the FTP server place images into the Ignition webserver’s folder …/webserver/main but again there are potential permissions and security issues
  • could place images in a local Windows 10 website folder and access them from the Ignition webserver

I’m new to administering FTP and WEB sites on Windows 10 so I may be creating some of my own problems.

Are there other better approaches?
Does the new non-browser based Perspective module solve this elegantly?

Would appreciate any feedback or discussion.

Thank you

Another approach to consider would be to store the images as blobs in the database.

It would get around some of the permissions problems/concerns. Better? All methods have their pros and cons.

EDIT: My manners are atrocious. Welcome to the forums! :slight_smile:

Great suggestion. I think at some point I will have to cross that bridge since inspection images may need to get stored in the database for future reporting.

My reluctance to do that right now is that the images are being generated by the Cognex software/firmware running on the camera and it can’t directly drop it into the database. That still leaves me with accessing the images from within Ignition…

Maybe I need to be looking into file and database manipulate first to get the images where I need them.