Scripting error due to binding evaluation delay

Hi everyone,

I am still fairly new to Ignition and I was writing a very basic component property script when I came across this issue:
On the Vision Client the Template I use works well, but usually (not always) gives an error. Looking into the details, and reading various forum topics here, it seems to me that it is a problem that occurs when the script runs before the template parameter has evaluated its binding to the tag (memory or OPC tag). I tried to resolve the problem by utilizing system.util.invokeLater, but it does not solve the problem. I even tried adding a manual delay using the system.util.invokeLater, but it doesn’t always solve the problem (I tried 500mSec which is already a substantial delay, I believe).

First, here is the script:
For reference: ALM_Box_One (TESTING2) --> template, Alarm1_Value --> template parameter bound to a Tag name inside the main window, Alarm1 --> label component

print event.source
print event.propertyName

if event.propertyName in ['Alarm1_Value']:
	print 'correct event type'
	def Alarm_Box():
		# Choice of text and value for "Alarm 1"

if '_50' in event.source.Alarm1_TagName:
			event.source.getComponent('Alarm1').text='SHORT CIRCUIT'
		elif '_51' in event.source.Alarm1_TagName:
			event.source.getComponent('Alarm1').text='OVERCURRENT'
		elif '_NA' in event.source.Alarm1_TagName:
			event.source.getComponent('Alarm1').text='UNAVAILABLE'
		elif '_27' in event.source.Alarm1_TagName:
			event.source.getComponent('Alarm1').text='UNDERVOLTAGE'
		else:
			event.source.getComponent('Alarm1').text='TYPE MISMATCH'

if event.source.Alarm1_Value:
			event.source.getComponent('Alarm1').foreground=(255,0,0)
		else:
			event.source.getComponent('Alarm1').foreground=(255,255,255)
	system.util.invokeLater(Alarm_Box)
	print 'elaborated if condition'