Setting up a new business

I have been working from home for 14+ years as a systems integrator and have recently decided to grow my business. This will involve taking on premises and (initially) a couple of staff, and will inevitably mean big changes in the way I work.

I am interested in discussing ideas for setting up the new office network and software. I currently use OpenOffice for word processing and spreadsheets and Outlook 2003 for email, calendar, contacts and general to-do lists. Project management tends to consist of files kept in a number of sub-directories for each project, with to-do lists and issue recording in Writer or Calc. I use MySQL as the relational database and Ignition (of course :slight_smile: ).

I run all this on one PC in my home office, backed up every night to an external hard drive and every weekend to DVD-R which is stored off-site. I also duplicate all the information on my laptop for when I am working on-site. Both the PCs run on Windows XP.

One of the main drivers in all of this is to keep the configuration of the PCs as simple as possible. I don’t mind running a server, but I don’t want to fall into the trap of spending all my time making sure the office runs correctly whilst not completing any paying work.

I seem to have 2 choices here:

1. Windows or Linux
  2. Locally installed software or Software as a Service (SaaS).

I hated Vista with a passion and downgraded both of my PCs back to XP. I have looked at Windows 7 but didn’t think it much of an improvement. Although I’ve used Microsoft software for years, I tend not to like its complexity or the ‘all or nothing’ approach nowadays – it doesn’t seem to mix well with others. I’ve played with Ubuntu for a couple of years and have been quite impressed with it. The normal Linux bugbear of finding software to do what you want doesn’t really apply, as all the software I use except Outlook will run on Linux.