Some basic questions

Going through the forums I can see that there are a lot of knowledgeable people out there.

I am running Ignition 7.2.11 on a linux openSUSE 12.3 desktop platform, 64 bit.

I am just getting started, and trying to learn how to run ignition on my own time. I have a few very basic questions that I assume lots of people know the answers to, but being a new guy, I may need some help to get started. I have done my best to look through the FAQs and search the forums, but it seems most people are a little more advanced than I am.

First of all, I would like to know, how much python do I need to know if I want to get really good at using the designer?

Ok, here are my other questions. If I should ask these separately in another forum, please let me know.

1. Is there a good tutorial for learning to use the designer? I have opened up the designer, and started with a simulator plc, and put in some tank levels, toggle switches, and things like that. I can get a circle to change color by attaching it to one of the plc tags and clicking a toggle button. However, something really basic, like getting a circle to flash when a boolean tag is at state 1 instead of 0 is beyond me. I tried to add a dynamic property with blinking color, and bind the background color to it, but I could not get it to work. So, are there any tutorials available that will show how to do things like that? Going through the manual so far has helped, but it doesn’t seem to be giving me all the information.