SQL Azure

I started playing around with Microsoft’s SQL Azure today and was wondering if anyone has had the opportunity to try this with FSQL. They haven’t released price information to my knowledge, but if the service is reliable it could be a great option for a redundant database.

If I am successful connecting to SQL Azure I will post back here with my feedback.

Interesting - that’s the first I’ve heard of it. The syntax should be identical to SQL Server. I’m curious to hear how it goes, including any stumbling blocks that we may be able to help you through.

Are you using the development environment?

Azure web page on MS

I’m still using my old setup, had a hardware issue on the new server that should be fixed this week.

As far as the Azure, I have been a beta tester for over 9 months and haven’t found a good fit as an integrator until now since the release to Beta of the SQL services. Other than connection issues everything seems to be going well. I have been looking for a better option for a hosted SQL server that allows remote connections. I hope this turns out to be what I have been waiting for. Again MS hasn’t mentioned anything about price yet, but that is the least of my concerns at this point.

OK, MS had the service down today as they were moving everything over to production servers in preparation for the PDC in November. After the 3-4 hour move I got my email letting me know that the service was back up. Here is my limited experience so far.

1. You have to set up the firewall on the Azure side to allow access from your local IP address for remote connection. This was easily done from the SQL Azure front end. If you are working from a dynamic address like I am at the office I suggest using something like DynDNS so that your connection isn’t broken the next time your IP lease runs out.