SQL/Query Scripting Module

Hey, so I'm interested in implementing what Ignition's system.db.runPrepQuery essentially does, but as a scripting module. Does anyone know how I would begin to go about this?

From the GatewayContext you get in setup() in your GatewayHook, access the DatasourceManager.
From there, you can retrieve an SRConnection by the name of the datasource you want. SRConnection exposes the base JDBC query methods.

Doing it from the client or designer involves RPC, a different subject entirely.
Doing this from inside a "project" scope (if you're exposing a scripting function to end users) will likely require you to check ScriptContext for the implicit default datasource name.

Got it, would you happen to have any example/sample code that I could look at for reference?

Might not be 100% upto scripting spec, but as i am new at python as well here it goes....
so far i have 2 access points i have discovered into using the embedded functions

1. using a Named query to execute and return a result set (Named Query Workspace - Ignition User Manual 8.1 - Ignition Documentation)
    i have a simple named query with 2 parameters and i execute from script as follows:

Lets go Grab the Db Values for gStats Settings for Each Machine,Station combo

params  = {"intMachineID":intMachineID, "intStationID":intStationID}
results = system.db.runNamedQuery("Oee and Stats/Get Stats Settings on Startup",params)

this returns a dataset which you will then need to parse to extract the return data if needed
[row, column]
results.getValueAt(C, X))
2. scripting direct where you can write your normal (Select Co1, Col2 from my table where my condition= x) Pass that to the same kind of container and then parse the data set the same

hope this helps..

Nope. If you can post your code publicly I can offer more concrete advice, but module dev is something you take on at your own peril; there aren't really resources beyond the public SDK examples.