SQL query with date range

I’m very new to Ignition and have very limited experience with any kind of scripting. I’m working on a very simple report that has an XY plot on it that trends a temperature over a measured length. I’m able to query the temperature and length data, but I’m not sure how to incorporate my StartDate and EndDate parameters into the query so it pulls the data I’m looking for.

This is the code I have so far:

SELECT R105_GelStar_Trend.GelStar_ActTemp,
R105_GelStar_Trend.GelStar_Location
FROM R105_GelStar_Trend

When I test the query in the database query browser, it pulls data from a random date a few years ago. Any help would be appreciated.

That depends on what other columns you have and what data type they are. Do you have a column that contains a SQL date, or maybe a UTC time stamp column?

Welcome!

7.9 or 8.0+?

You say report, using the report module?

https://inductiveuniversity.com/videos/sql-query/7.9

I can add a time stamp column, but the dates are way off:

FROM R105_GelStar_Trend
where tstamp BETWEEN ? and ?

For the ? and ? link to StartDate and EndDate, that looks like a 79 IDE refer to my linked video

Hm, now I’m getting a “query could not be executed” message on the query browser. I’ve already watched that video a few times, and have looked in the online user manual. Neither were very helpful to me.

You can’t run ? in the query browser, for the query browser you need to set a specific date.

What DB are you using?

That would make sense then. I’m just using the Universal database.

Try this in the DB query browser (by universal database I assume you mean SqlLite… (MS)):

FROM R105_GelStar_Trend
WHERE tstamp > DATE_ADD(NOW(), INTERVAL -1 DAY)

No that doesn’t seem to be working. It’s getting late here so I’ll need to start fresh in the morning. Thanks for your help so far.

OK. I don’t know what you’re referring to when you say “universal database”.