SQLserver SELECT query taking over 4s, please advise on howto diagnose and identify causes

Hi, just learning the ropes here in the Ignition ecosystem. Lots of interesting tools, kinda lost on howto go about diagnosing issues.

In a nutshell --- using the Ignition Gateway > Status > Connections > Databases > clicking on the database with the most connections & Queries/sec --> leads to some very interesting information.

The table describing "Longest Recent Queries" has a duration of typically > 1s sometimes even 4s.

The query structure is weird

SELECT a."id",a."tagpath",a."datatype",a."scid",a."querymode",a."created",a."retired" FROM sqlth_te a,sqlth_scinfo b WHERE (a."tagpath"=? OR a."tagpath"=? OR a."tagpath"=? OR a."tagpath"=? OR a."tagpath"=? OR a."tagpath"=? OR a."tagpath"=? OR a."tagpath"=? OR a."tagpath"=? OR a."tagpath"=? OR a."tagpath"=? OR a."tagpath"=?) AND (a."scid"=0 OR a."scid"=b."id" AND (b."drvid"=? OR b."drvid"=?)) ORDER BY a."retired" DESC

Plus I am new to the system and the legacy project it involves. So hence I ask on these forums for some guidance in howto further dig into this issue.

My hope is that from this SQL query --> identify the logs that further describe the events leading up to it --> identify the script/component triggering this query to trigger ---> maybe optimize the query, or evaluate if an alternative solution can be applied.

Since this is all new to me, at least we were able to identify this very valuable table "Longest Recent Queries" .

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

That looks like a very large historical or real time trend on a vision window somewhere.

1 Like

A tiny bit of help: Let's make it readable.

SELECT 
  a."id",
  a."tagpath",
  a."datatype",
  a."scid",
  a."querymode",
  a."created",
  a."retired" 
FROM 
    sqlth_te a,
    sqlth_scinfo b 
WHERE (a."tagpath" = ? 
    OR a."tagpath" = ?  
    OR a."tagpath" = ? 
    OR a."tagpath" = ? 
    OR a."tagpath" = ? 
    OR a."tagpath" = ?