Sum tag value for 24hr period

I have a weather station that returns a total rainfall for a 5min period. What is the best create a tag that can sum the total rainfall from 00:00 to 12:00 (current day). I currently have the tag data in historian.

You can try using the system.tag.queryTagCalculations function?

I've never used it before. You'll probably want to set noInterpolation = True

2 Likes

Maybe something like this you can run in your script console and test.

tagPathReadList = ['[default]Folder/Tag'] #Your tagpath

# Set the start date to 12 hours ago (720 mins) from the current time
startDate = system.date.addMinutes(system.date.now(), -720)
endDate = system.date.addMinutes(system.date.now(), 0)

# Query historical tag data for the specified tag paths and time range
resultDataSet = system.tag.queryTagHistory(
            paths=tagPathReadList,
            startDate=startDate,
            endDate=endDate,
            returnSize=1,
            intervalMinutes = 144, # Number of 5-minute periods
            interapolation = False,
            aggregationMode = "Sum"
        )

pythonResultDataSet = system.dataset.toPyDataSet(resultDataSet)
print pythonResultDataSet[0][1]
1 Like

I have run the code in the console. It returns the current value instead of sum.

I have also tried the following script with no success. Its like the sum feature does not work.

For the code that you ran in the console, try changing your return size to -1, print the whole dataset, do you at least get the correct result for the period?.
As for the script on your second post, if i'm not mistaken, the paths and calculations are supposed to be lists, so maybe instead of:
tagPath = "yourTagPathHere"
Try:
tagPath = ["yourTagPathHere"]

And instead of:
calc = "sum"

Try:
calc = ["sum"]

2 Likes

I have run the following script in the console, and it is returning the correct data. Excellent.

Could I get some help writing the data to the following tag path

[Weather_Stations]RainfallTotal