Summary questions about Perspective Module

Hello. I have a few questions that I am hoping can be answered by someone. I do not need a lot of detail, but any information will be appreciated. This may be a bit lengthy, but I am trying to provide some background in order that my questions make more sense.

I am the “SCADA Guy” here where I work(Water Treatment Facility). I have no background in it, I have only known about SCADA since coming to work here. However, it interested me enough that I dove in and learned all I could. I say this to lay the groundwork that I am not an integrator, but I do know how a SCADA system should operate and what we need in one.

We have been using ClearSCADA ever since it was owned by Control Microsystems. I know my way around it very well, but it is the only SCADA system/software I have used other than just some real basic mobile app stuff(which I would not consider a true system). However, after talking with some people and doing a bit of looking around, I really am drawn to the Ignition software.

I have gotten a quote, and it seems that not only would we benefit from a nice mobile SCADA system by switching, we could also have a significant cost saving over our current one. I went ahead and set up a server and installed the modules I was quoted only in order to make sure this is going to work for us.

I have been able to get everything set up just fine, but I keep finding myself running into walls in actually making the system operate the way we need to. So, what I would like to do is ask a few questions in order to see if it will be able to do what we need. If it can, then I have no problem learning how to make it happen. However, if the functionality is not there, I do not want to waste my time or others in trying to make something happen that cannot.