Syntax - long string/line contiuation in Python script

I’m still fairly new to Python and the syntax. If I have a fairly long SQL statement string I need to build (don’t want to put it in named query yet), what is the syntax for building a long string on multiple lines (continuation)? below is the example. Thanks.

strQuery = 'SELECT DISTINCT WORKORDER.SONum, WORKORDER.SOItemNum \WORKORDER.Lot, WORKORDER.Status, WORKORDER.DieNum, WORKORDER.BilLen, WORKORDER.LotLen, WORKORDER.LotPc, WORKORDER.LotWt, WORKORDER.Press,
WORKORDER.ExtLen, WORKORDER.SchedDt, WORKORDER.ExtrudedPc, WORKORDER.SchedSeq,… (and so on)

3 times "(double quotes)
be wary of the indents tho its one of the few times there shouldnt be any.
im not sure how good this will work for your query tho with the newlines(enters) in it

1 Like

Yes, that’s it. Thank you.

1 Like

In your case, I wouldn’t use triple quotes. The problem with triple quotes is that everything between the 2 sets of quotes is part of the string. That includes newlines.

x = """foo
bar
baz"""
# x == "foo\nbar\nbaz"

There is a way in python to ignore newlines, and that’s parenthesis.

x = (
  "foo"
  "bar"
  "baz"
)
# x == "foobarbaz"

It’s up to you to decide which one fits your needs, but I believe in this case what you want is the second method.

2 Likes

I think you've missed the closing parenthesis.

@jeff.ryan - Tip: use the </> code formatting button to format your code. This will preserve indentation and apply syntax highlighting. There's an edit button (pencil icon) below your question should you want to fix it.

strQuery = ('SELECT DISTINCT 
          WORKORDER.SONum,  WORKORDER.SOItemNum,
          WORKORDER.Lot,    WORKORDER.Status,  WORKORDER.DieNum, WORKORDER.BilLen, 
          WORKORDER.LotLen, WORKORDER.LotPc,   WORKORDER.LotWt,  WORKORDER.Press,
          WORKORDER.ExtLen, WORKORDER.SchedDt, WORKORDER.ExtrudedPc,
          WORKORDER.SchedSeq,… (and so on)'
)