Tab Strip Scripting and Binding

Hi all,

I am new to Ignition and scripting (and everything else). I am adding a Tab Strip to the project I am using to learn.

I have the Tab Strip bound to a Named Query that returns 2 columns. An id and a name.

Based on what I have read, it looks like scripting is pretty much limited to an event script. If there is a better way, please let me know.

I want to be able to do the following:

1. Set the Tab names to the names in the names column of the query.

2. Pass the id to a parameter or a value.

Is binding this to the query the right way to do this? The query dataset will be dynamic and I will want the Tab Strip to adjust accordingly.

I have read through a lot of previous post but I think many of them are beyond my current understanding.

What I do not see is a property for each tab to be able to see the names.

Any direction you can provide will be much appreciated.

Thanks, Steven

The ignition programming setup is event driven programming, you are correct on that. You only call scripts on events, whether the event is a tag change, a GUI interaction, or something else that is changing or causing an event.

If you make a fresh Tab Strip component, then click on the Tab Data to see what is currently there, you’ll see this

These are the columns you need to alias in your SQL SELECT clause which you’ll need bounnd to the Tab Data component.

Yes, binding to a SQL query I believe is the way for you to do this especially if you want it dynamic as you can set a SQL polling rate in the situation where you might have users manually changing items in the database that will change the tab appearance.