Table cell dropdown query

I Need to generate a dropdown from a cellclick event on a power table. the “option” function it is not enough, as i need the cell to be an editable dropdown to the user, with a query, so i can filter the dropdown.data while the user is doing the input on the cell.

once the user finish typing and pressed enter , i have a celledit script. if the user types the whole partnumber in the cell edit then presses enter or tab i’m running a script for the table to fill the rest of the column in that row. but if the user select the value by clicking on the dropdown instead of typing it i need the celledit to run the script.

any ideas?

You can configure the cell renderer to be a jDropDown in the configure cell extension function. It sounds like you know exactly what to do.

1 Like

thanks, I’m actually very new to Java. anyway you can provide a short example to help me get going?

Perfect abstractions has a really great blog on how to do just that, with the exception that you’ll probably want a JComboBox. Here is the blog link.

http://blog.perfectabstractions.com/2017/03/10/getting-even-more-out-of-your-power-tables/

Also a quick google search on any of these java components will expose to you the properties that you might want to edit etc.

Your code might look something like this in the configure cell extension function.
You’ll want to play with the .addItem method of the comboBox and .setEditable(True)
See this page

'''
Configure Cell
'''

# import the java object
import javax.swing.JComboBox as JComboBox

# instantiate a new jBox
comboBox = JComboBox()

# default attributes dictionary
attributes = {'background': 'FFFFFF'}

# only add the renderer attribute to a specific colum
if colName == 'etc':
    attributes['renderer'] = comboBox

# return the attributes dictionary for every cell
return attributes 

1 Like