Tag group poll rates

I am having issues with my tag groups not polling devices at the correct speed I have set them at.
The rate the tag groups were polling at before were causing heavy network load on the devices so I tried to adjust them to slower rates. But when I change the rates and apply them nothing changes. When I look at the devices details page, they are still being polled at old rates. What could cause the updates to the tag groups to not be recognized by the gateway? I am also fairly new to this, been working on a project for a couple months and it is my first time using ignition so I am still learning and may be missing some things. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Edit: Solution to the tag group configuration not updating in the gateway for me was to restart the gateway. Restarting the devices did not seem to help anything. I had to do a full gateway restart. It has only happened to me once but if anyone else has this issue. That is what I had to do.

When you overload a device, it runs at the fastest rate it can achieve for the load. You won't see any change at the device until you reduce the load enough for the device to have some free bandwidth.

FWIW, the most common newbie mistake is dragging big chunks of the PLC's tags from the OPC browser over to the Tag Browser. Don't do that. Only make Ignition tags for the PLC tags that you actually need.

1 Like