Template events

Hello,

I’ve been working on my first project using Ignition. Ignition is my introduction to Python, however I do see that the scripting environment is a very powerfull tool over other Scada softwares (after all the struggle learning basic Python).

For the project I could make most of the stuff using a few templates, if I could figure out how to invoke events from a template (assuming it is possible). I would really like to make something similar to the ActionPerformed event on the Button component.
As this is my introduction to Python I am still learning, however I do a lot of programming in C# and do know how delegates/event patterns work, I just can’t seem to figure it out in Ignition/Python. Any help/examples would be very much appreciated, thanks.

Templates can certainly contain event-producing objects. The event code in those objects can follow the parent chain up to the holder of the template and work with those components, too. Including invoking custom methods on those components. So Ignition isn’t providing a direct way to have custom events per template instance, but it is achievable.
If you have a specific function you are attempting to achieve, please elaborate.

A special function would be a custom button that doesn’t know how to implement its behavior.
My current approach is your suggestion. I have buttons and textfields working on the data in a Power Table and I have implemented a chain in each template that finds the Power Table which name is bound to custom properties of the templates. However, this approach just seems wrong to me (if I can add events to a template) as each template needs to know what it is doing and if I need e.g. two buttons doing different things but should have somehow identical appearance, the design of these would have to be maintained in two templates instead of one.