Template for getting name of tag with value

Does anyone know if there is a template out there that would let me drag a tag value onto a display for a numeric input component and have it automatically populate a label next to it with the .name parameter of the same tag?

I was able to figure out how to do this for tags in the same folder…I had to hardcode the folder path into the template…I set the template custom property to a string “NameOfTag” and have that be the drop target, then for the value I have an indirect tag reference of folder/{1}.Value where {1} is the NameofTag custom property. Works fine for all tags in the folder, but I’m using an AB PLC with Add-on’s and UDTs, so most of the tags I’m interested in are in their own sub-folders dynamically generated when I populate the tag list from the OPC.

What I’d like to know, is there anyway to get something like this to work independent of where the tag is in the tag hierarchy? I’m still fairly new to Ignition, haven’t learned the scripting engine yet, so I was wondering if someone else was able to do something like this with scripting, ie have the template determine the full tag path using scripting and then dynamically link the label and the data entry component in the template to the full path.

Thanks…

There’s no direct support for this, but it is possible to examine bindings from scripting via the undocumented InteractionController object on each window. There’s some nuances to doing it from within a template – these are the sorts of problems that caused me to create the objectScript() function. Ignition v7.8 now has similar functionality in runScript().
Basically, from a function in an expression binding on your label, you’d use binding.target.parent.getComponent() to get the numeric display, look up the binding in the window’s interactionController, then get the tag path from that binding.

Phil,