Testing and Deployment process

To start, I want to say that I have looked at the guidance here and so I’m not just looking for the most basic concepts.

The existing deployment here doesn’t really have a lot of governance on it and we’re looking to establish a prod environment for some more crucial projects. As part of this process we’re trying to figure out how to handle things like Dev environments and testing.

My background is in Web Development so my expectations about what can be achieved with testing seem to be a little at odds with what’s available, and I’m wondering if I’m missing some tricks. It doesn’t seem like there’s a way to, for example, automatically test changes to a UDT or a template that feeds many instances. I just have to make the change and try to inspect all 70+ instances. I have pondered pointing a linter at the exported file before pulling to master in order to “freeze” certain components of the configuration. I’ve also pondered capturing “sessions” in historian and trying to script a playback of that data and check the results for known inputs. It was even suggested that we could do some rudimentary pages that could expose some tag data so a GUI testing tool could inspect them as well, although it’s a little janky.

I’m just not sure what makes sense.

Additionally, I can’t figure out how to manage a test/dev environment and be sure that your dev environment matches live without having to send every single machine tag to both gateways, and then try to change which gateway is being mirrored as projects hit that stage. I just don’t know what that workflow looks like in practice.

I hope it doesn’t look like a complaint, I’m mostly convinced I’ve just missed the boat on the best way to carry this out and I’d like to understand what I’m missing.