Time tracking using Gateway Timer Script

Hello, I am new to ignition and python as a whole and have been trying to get the following setup on a small scale first before expanding it.

I have a VFD that will send Dint to my SCADA platform that designates VFD run time. I want the SCADA to do a periodic script ~ 1 min or so to update the memory tag stored on the gateway if the VFD time is greater than the memory tag, then vice versa so that if the VFD time is lower than the gateway it will be updated to the larger time. So far I have this and haven't been able to get any updated results with just looking at the VFD run state first.

# Function to update VFD run hours
def update_vfd_run_hours1():
    # Read current run state
	run_state1[0] = system.tag.readBlocking("[default]CUP/CNWR/PMP1/VFD/RunHours")
	memory_state1[0] = system.tag.readBlocking("[default]CHW/VFD/Runtime/CHP-1")

# Compare VFD and Gateway hours and set if VFD hours are greater
    	if run_state1[0].value > memory_state1[0].value:
			memory_state1[0].value = run_state1[0].value
			system.tag.writeBlocking("[default]CHW/VFD/Runtime/CHP-1", 'memory_state1[0].value')

It checks out fine when I save it, but the function of the block doesn't actually do anything. I have also tried adding in a print memory_state1[0].value after the last line and it doesn't actually print anything.

Hopefully I am just missing something extremely obvious but I have read through the help articles many times.

Hi, yes from what I can read, there is a mistake

This isn't correct, you should instead use:
run_state1 = system.tag.readBlocking("[default]CUP/CNWR/PMP1/VFD/RunHours")[0].value

Something like this should work:

# Read current run state
	run_state1 = system.tag.readBlocking("[default]CUP/CNWR/PMP1/VFD/RunHours")[0].value
	memory_state1 = system.tag.readBlocking("[default]CHW/VFD/Runtime/CHP-1")[0].value

if run_state1 > memory_state1:
		system.tag.writeBlocking("[default]CHW/VFD/Runtime/CHP-1", run_state1)