Total Cumulative energy convert to Daily Cumulative

Hello Guys , i have this Cumulative Energy Tag
This value is increasing continuesly. I want to have the Daily Cumulative Energy instead of Having the Total Cumulative Energy. What is the Best possible way to do it ?

Not sure if it is the best possible solution, but I would create an additional memory tag that stores the cumulative energy on the day previous. Then have a expression tag that subtracts the previous day value from the total cumulative energy.

Have a script that updates the previous day value, once every 24 hours.

Note: This solution would not give a 24 hour rolling value but a value that resets to 0 at the start of each day, which I believe is your goal?

1 Like

Hi Nathan , thank you for the replay , Can you guide me please ? I have limited Scripting experience. i dont mind reseting the value to Zero since it will be logged Daily , So at the logs will appear for each days the Energy produced.

I strongly advise logging (in a database) the cumulative reading. Then you can calculate consumption over any period you want including current daily total (live tag reading - period start count). It also means that if the logging fails for any reason you will be able to interpolate for the missing data.

I also recommend doing this logging to your own table on a gateway scheduled event rather than using Ignition's historian. The historian doesn't do interpolation well and you won't get an exact value for midnight, etc. Set up the table with columns id, t_stamp, meterno, kwh, kvar and anything else that might be useful.

3 Likes

Transistor is correct, if you're using a database already, that is likely a better solution.

1 Like

You could have a Daily Scheduled Gateway Event that every day at 00:00 sets that tag to 0.

It would set it to 0 and you would have a daily cumulative energy tag.
I also would do it in another tag, not in the same one so you wouldn't lose information.

1 Like