Transaction groups and UDTs

My process is ‘cookie cutter’, I will have a bunch of PLCs all doing the same thing. I have 10 PLCs now and plan to have 50 in the next year.

I have an existing SQL Server database where I want to store production data (every minute) from each PLC into an existing table.

I have created a UDT for the production PLC. Do I have to create a transaction group for each of the PLCs or can I use the UDT and bind tag names?

As I continue to add PLCs I don’t want to have to keep editing the software (i.e. adding a new transaction group for each new PLC).

I’m just learning the transaction groups so maybe I missed something. Thanks

I have a similar setup and the best I came up with is exporting the transaction group’s XML, doing a find / replace based on your different instance names / tag locations, and importing the modified XML. Be careful on the path of the transaction group because it will overwrite existing ones without any warning.

You mentioned storing data every minute and transaction groups are good for scheduling something like that. But if you’re making extensive use of UDTs and can come up with a way to do your data collection through a tag event script then that script would work for every instance and eliminate the need for additional transaction groups per instance.

Thanks for the input @scicco, you have me contemplating both of those options. I found another thread discussing dynamically creating transactions groups. I've been thinking my way through using a script to modify an XML template and using system.groups.loadFromFile. But, I haven't sold myself on this yet. Keeping track of when to add (possibly remove) transactions groups seems too complicated.