Transactions - Explain like I'm 5

Gents/ladies,

I’m now on the subject of “Transactions” in my Ignition Gateway journey and even though I went through first module I don’t understand what this module is all about.

Could you explain to a basic blue collar worker in the industrial automation field what benefit and functionality the transaction bring to the table? (also I’m not experienced in sql).

Thanks very much.

Like you’re five …

You have a toy car. I have some chocolate. We want to swap.

• If I give you my chocolate first you might not give me the car.
  • If you give me the car first I might not give you the chocolate.
  • If we exchange at the same time - a transaction - then we should be safe.

Databases can have the same problem - moving money between accounts, for example - so we use transactions to do the task completely or not at all.

Ignition has a historian. It usually saves data in a “narrow” column format.

# tagid, intvalue, floatvalue, stringvalue, datevalue, dataintegrity, t_stamp
  '431',      '24',      NULL,        NULL,      NULL,         '192', '1651361074677'
   '11',      NULL,   3.14159,        NULL,      NULL,         '192', '1651361075007'
  '109',      NULL,      NULL,    "Mixing",      NULL,         '192', '16513610763321'
  • The tag id (which can be used to look up the tag name in another table).
  • The table can take integers, floats, strings and date types. These will be stored in the appropriate column.
  • The dataintegrity stores the OPC quality of the data. 192 signifies valid data.
  • The t_stamp is the milliseconds since 1970-01-01.

While this can be very useful it can sometimes be difficult to match up all the events that happened at a particular time because each record will have a (slightly) different timestamp. Transactions allow us to record in a “wide” format and to allow us to design the table to suit. For example:

#         timeStamp,  stopCause, speed, temperature, count