Tree View?

I am brand new to ID FactoryPMI. It is fairly straightforward to generate graphics and other things, but I really need a tree view for my site. So far, I have been unable to find anything whatsoever.

Given that the Designer relies heavily on a tree view for structuring the project, it seems there must be some way to do this.

Any suggestions or ideas are welcome, as well as alternatives.

Regards,
Troy

Troy,
As of now the Runtime menu is our one way of achieving a true tree structure in the runtime. We do not currently have a tree component.

I know of several projects where a “drill down” effect is achieved using several tables and Jython scripts to connect them. It works particularly well if you have 2 or 3 defined “levels” - beyond that you would want to separate the screens and pass parameters.

The screenshot I included uses a screen not shown to select a production run for a user specified date range. The displayed screen shows all downtime for that production run grouped by device on the top table, then individual events by device (for the selected device) on the bottom table.

What exactly are you trying to accomplish? Navigation and several other tree type examples work well as a runtime menu. If you’re trying to browse the local computer to get a file, you can use the Jython function, fpmi.file.openFile(), which also opens a tree type file browser.

Peering into our development schedule, a tree component is among the feature request list. Also included are tabbed controls, collapsible or scrollable containers, and an “Easy Table” that allows simple editing of data without entering SQL. We’re probably looking at the Fall or so, as we have all resources busily developing SQLTags, a nice dissectable sample project, more industrial components, more fundamental (vector based) objects, and object moving and (non-layout based) resizing. We welcome feature requests here.