Trigger a button Click with text entry

Got thrown on an ignition project that has mostly been built and I do the PLC stuff and its been fine. I figured out most of the scripting stuff I’ve needed to in order to interact properly with the HMI however last minute they want me to have a “validate” button be triggered after a text box is filled. I’m new to ignition and really am not sure how to accomplish this. I’m using a barcode scanner that is acting as a USB keyboard so I was thinking of ‘property change’ or ‘key released’ as my script trigger and then use component.onClick() function call. Not sure if I’m goin in the right direction. The scanner blasts values into the text box and I would like it to trigger an adjacent button when it is done ‘typing’. This button also has scripting that was provided by another integrator. Some pointing in the correct direction would be appreciated.

What do your scanned strings look like?

There is a scanner input component you can use. That looks for certain patterns.

Otherwise. The direction you are going is not wrong. I tend to do that kind of stuff with events that call component methods.

If the bar code scanner can tab out of the text field. After a scan. You might consider using the lost focus event. Instead.

I usually make sure the string is matches some kind of format. First.

Post more info and we will help you.