Troubleshooting clock drift

We’re experiencing some Clock Drift errors, and I’m pretty confident it is related to JVM Garbage Collection. The errors nearly always correlate when it looks like GC runs.

I’m new to JVM GC, so I’m trying to figure out the best way to address this. We currently have 1GB for init and 16GB for max. We are currently running 8.1 at all of our sites.

Here are a couple of options we’ve been considering:

1. Lower max heap size so GC has less data to process.
  2. Increase init heap size so the gap between init and max is smaller. I’m wondering if GC reduces memory back to the init level.

Does anyone have any thoughts on this?

You could try lowering the max and/or adding -XX:MaxGCPauseMillis=100 to your ignition.conf.

Or just do nothing, because it doesn’t seem that bad :man_shrugging:

edit: ah, also, use real hardware instead of virtualized hardware if that’s not already happening.

This first.

1 Like

Thanks! I think we’ll try putting this in place this weekend.

It’s not that bad right now, but we’ve had issues recently because of Clock Drift errors. We had a few situations where Ignition missed tag changes on the PLC during the Clock Drift error.

We are running Ignition as a VM, so we went from 4 to 12 cores, and that helped immensely.

When you said it missed a value, do you mean:

1. E.g. the value went from 1 to 2 and you never saw 2
  2. E.g. the value went from 1 to 2 to 3 and you saw 1 and 3 but missed 2

There is a BOOL tag on the PLC that went from high to low and back to high, but Ignition missed the change to low. As a result, Ignition did not fire a gateway event, and our production line stopped.

So it would be more similar to example 2 that you provided.