Trying to open window and "click" print button

I have this project script that I want to trigger when a tag comes true. It should open the window, pause for 2 seconds while the table populates, then ‘virtually’ click a print screen button that runs a print script. I get this error :

“nameerror: global name ‘event’ is not defined”

window = system.nav.openWindow(‘DAILY TIMES 1’)
system.nav.centerWindow(window)
def clickButton():
import system
button = event.source.parent.getcomponent(‘print’)
button.doClick()
system.gui.messageBox(“Button has been clicked!”)

system.util.invokeLater(clickButton,2000)

I am relatively new to scripting so I’m sure it is something I don’t completely understand.

Thanks!!
Rhett

The ‘event’ variable doesn’t exist in your clickButton script because clickButton is running later. The event routine that created clickButton has ended, and the event ‘environment’ is gone. To make this work, you must get a copy of the event variable into your function. The typical way is to use a default parameter, like so:window = system.nav.openWindow('DAILY TIMES 1') system.nav.centerWindow(window) def clickButton(ev=event): import system button = ev.source.parent.getcomponent('print') button.doClick() system.gui.messageBox("Button has been clicked!") system.util.invokeLater(clickButton,2000)Note the copy of ‘event’ into ‘ev’. invokeLater doesn’t allow the caller to pass arguments, so the function gets only the default arguments from its definition. Including ‘event’ as a default argument gets around the invokeLater limitation. That’s also why ‘clickButton’ has to be defining in the event routine itself, not in a project or shared script. ‘event’ doesn’t exist anywhere else.
Although you could name the parameter ‘event’ inside the function too, I find that using a slightly different name helps me debug my own code later. It reminds me that ‘ev’ is a copy of ‘event’, and exists outside the original event.