Unable to build modules from the example repo

version: 7.9.10
ide: intelliJ

Hey everyone,

I'm new to these territories of Ignition and I'm following:
https://docs.inductiveautomation.com/display/SE/Environment+Setup

I'm using chocolatey as my package manager.
I successfully cloned the example repo:
git clone https://github.com/inductiveautomation/ignition-sdk-examples.git

I launched the IDE via pom.xml it looks like all dependencies are downloaded and cached.

Then when I run mvn package from git or cmd I get an error about class 55.0 should be 52.0
error:

class file has wrong version 55.0, should be 52.0
Please remove or make sure it appears in the correct subdirectory of the classpath.

Additional notes with regards to Environment Setup - Ignition SDK Programmer's Guide - Ignition Documentation
Step 1: "You will need Java JDK 1.8+..."
Is this required because when I used chocolatey to install maven it forced me to download jdk 18.0_211?

Step 3: "you will want a running version of Ignition..."
This step doesn't specify what version, but the git repo's readme.md states "A running, 8.0+ version of Ignition" as a requirement.

The docs are a bit out of date, you need JDK 11, which is what that error is about.

1 Like

@Kevin.Herron thank you!

To anyone else experiencing the same issue; after installing jdk 11 you’ll need to update your JAVA_HOME environment variables and point to the jdk11 install directory. I restarted git/bash and was able to the build the module.

2 Likes

While that fixed the build of the expression sample. I'm getting a different error when building the scripting example (which is the one I'm really after).

[INFO] -------------------------------------------------------------
[ERROR] COMPILATION ERROR :