Using Easy Chart

Hi,
I am new to Ignition and I’m using the PLC simulator provided to get some experience.
I was trying to plot an Easy Chart but is not plotting the data.
My question is do I need to set-up a DB connection for this to work?
Am I missing something?
please see below the snipshot
Thanks
Erik

Yes you need a DB. MySQL is free. Once setup right click the tag and enable history stored on it, then drag over to easy chart.

https://www.inductiveuniversity.com/videos/set-up-tags-to-log/7.9

https://www.inductiveuniversity.com/videos/basic-easy-chart/7.9

1 Like

Side note, if you’re on 8.0.4 or greater (it looks like you are) you can use the internal historian provider: Internal Historian Provider Docs

Basically, it allows Ignition to store the tag records in an internal database, instead of an external SQL DB (which you would need to install). The internal historian isn’t idea for production environments, but it’s fantastic for learning to use Ignition without needing to install something else.

But yeah, once your gateway is either connected to a SQL Database or has an Internal Historian configured, you can enable tag history on your tags, and you’ll have your trending. The videos Matrix_Engineering linked are still valid, but the UI has been changed recently, so the user manual might be helpful here: Configuring Tag History

thanks for the quick reply @Matrix_Engineering and @Paul.Scott .
I implemented both solutions (MySQL and the internal historian provider) and it worked.

what are some interesting next steps for learning that you think could be useful?
I thought about creating some templates with the Easy Charts for example…
Also is it possible to see this historical data in the DB?because I haven’t created any table in the DB, so I wondered where is all this data logger…

1 Like

Awesome!