Using message handler to run script

I have a frontend and backend gateway. Frontend contains perspective visuals and reporting modules. Backend contains the tag provider and DB connection. Frontend also has DB connection. Originally this was one gateway where all the scripting was on the one gateway. Now I have some tag event scripts which reside on the backend. I have a script based off of a tag event script which contains a call to save a report however it will not work because the frontend contains the report and the backend contains the tag calling the script. Whats the best way and example to complete this from the backend to the frontend? Can I use a message handler? If so can you give an example of what it would look like? I am very new to message handlers to do this type of thing.

Here is the existing tag event script being called from the backend tag:

This might help you Calling function on another gateway? - #3 by nminchin

Thanks! Here is my attempt of the tag event script.

Question I have is what to put for the hostName or remoteServers parameters. Would I be able to put the IP address of the gateway connection in one of these? Would I be able to put the gateway name of the frontend gateway which contains the messagehandler in one of these?

Having trouble determining which one to use and what to put for one of them. Thanks.

If I am reading things correctly, if the frontend gateway which contains the message handler I want to call has the system name of ‘Ignition-BladeSide-Frontend’ within the Gateway Settings, I should be able to include the line:

remoteServers = ‘Ignition-BladeSide-Frontend’

Is this correct?

1 Like

Yep, remoteServers should be the gateway system name, but it should be a list

Yea I did see it had to be a list. I am pretty sure I have everything correct but still not working.
Backend tag event script is creating the call of the messagehandler on the frontend.