Using values in selected Row

Hello, (Skip to next paragraph for shorter entry)
I was doing some stuff with this program Ignition designer, when I came across a problem. I had put a table into a window, and set it up so that the user could select a row; but as I went on to continue, I noticed that I didn’t have a way to retrieve any of the data in the row the user selected, I have spent a good while trying to find out how to return or otherwise obtain any values contained inside of the row the user selected (such as the Primary Key). Hopefully I was wrong and you guys can point me into the right direction as to how to get values out of a Windows selected row within a Table.

Short Form: How do I get a value/ cell data out of the selected row within the Table Component.

P.S. I don’t normally post on forums, so I’m new to this. I tried to use common knowledge to determine the best way to go about it. If I messed anything up to where you feel the need to inform me, please do so.

table = event.source.parent.getComponent(“Table”)
selRow = table.getSelectedRow()
selCol = table.getSelectedColumn()

data = data.getValueAt(selRow, selCol)

1 Like

You can build an event script for that table component using the mouse/mouseClicked event to do whetever you want with the row the user selected. I normally only do something if they double-click the row as it is too easy for someone to just single-click a row. Here is the script I use.

if event.button == event.BUTTON1: if event.clickCount > 1: GridData = event.source.data SRow = event.source.selectedRow PDataSet = system.dataset.toPyDataSet(GridData) value0 = PDataSet[SRow] [0] value1 = PDataSet[SRow] [1] value2 = PDataSet[SRow] [2] system.nav.openWindow("Popups/Details", {"Property0":value0, "Property1":value1, "Property2":value2})

In this example, I am only wanting the values of the first three columns in the row which the user double-clicked in the table.