What is ignition Web based server?

Hello. I am new to this platform, just downloaded the Ignition web server yesterday and started to watch University lessons.
Probably it is dumb questions but I will appreciate it you could answer because I have never had experience with Web based Scada servers

1. Why this server is Web based? What is the advantage s? Because I don’t have to download everything?

2. Where actually the created project is stored? On local PC I access the Server or somewhere else?

3. If I don’t need remote access to site then I don’t need continuous internet connection? Is that correct?
    So basically I use internet connection just to configure settings of Ignition server ( add modules, set communication OPC-UA, updating, licensing etc.) and than install the clients “runtime”.
    But when I need to reach remote server than I need Internet connection

Using a Web server means that you can access the config and status from anywhere without installing anything. Super handy!!

Locally where Igntion was installed. In Windows it's under c:/program files/inductive automation/ignition/data/projects? Something like that

For remote access, you need to be able to reach the igntion gateway from your laptop/pc. Whether that's via a VPN, something like vmware horizon client, a public facing server address, or something else, you'll need some form of wan/internet connection.

It’s important to clarify: