What is this for then? I see this a lot as well and want to disable it but what am I losing by disabling it?
As Kevin said, it’s used for automatic discovery of the gateway when you use the client or designer launcher.
It’s an entirely optional convenience feature, nothing more.
Understood. Thank you for the info.