While loop script is not working

Hello, I made a script function counter.

it is supposed to check for new instances in which the bool tag turns true. And work as a counter while hourly intervals are active (e.g. when it is 15:00 hrs return the number of instances for which the bool tag was true). Maybe I am doing something wrong? I am new to ignition and python to be honest...

I was told that I cannot use the database on site for reasons unknown to me, so I have to find the way to achieve this.

My goal is to write the number of changes of the boolean tag using my counter function with the respective time argument for each of the labels (in the above image) to be binded.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

I would make a tag that has the expression dateExtract(now(10000), 'hour') == 15, and make a tag change event so when that tag is true, then you execute your logic to check for new instances of bool tags.

2 Likes

To me it looks like you set up an infinite loop. After the while starts your not updating now or time. Time is passed in to start the function and now is only updated before your loop starts. With that, unless there is something I’m missing, your loop will never change the condition required to end the loop. On top of that, your changeVal is also looked at before you go into the while loop. I think @bkarabinchak.psi has the right idea, but me personally I would do the tag change event script on your bool tag that your wanting to count. Then set up memory tags for the different hours that you want to look at. In your script you can look at the current hour when your bool is true and increment your memory tag value for that hour. Also as a side note, your changeVal is returning a list of qualified values. You need to extract the value from it.

Here is a quick example of the idea I’m thinking. Its assuming you create tags that are in the format of HourlyCount# where # is the hour.

if not initialChange:
		if currentValue.value: