Calling PostegreSQL 11 Stored Procedures

Maybe my question is more about JDBC. This is my first project with PostgreSQL, after 4+ years MS SQL Server projects. Ignition is version 7.9.10, PostgreSQL server v. 11, JDBC driver is postgresql-42.2.5.jar (instead of the postgresql-9.1-901.jdbc4.jar which comes with the standard Ignition installation - I had some issues defining users).
Trying to call a stored procedure in the MS SQL Server way, i.e. something like that

call = system.db.createSProcCall("logs.usp_log_steps")
call.registerInParam(1, system.db.INTEGER, nr_caldera)
call.registerInParam(2, system.db.INTEGER, prev_step)
call.registerInParam(3, system.db.INTEGER, curr_step)
system.db.execSProcCall(call)

I’m getting the following exception:

Caused by: org.postgresql.util.PSQLException: ERROR: logs.usp_log_steps(integer, integer, integer) is a procedure
  Suggerimento: To call a procedure, use CALL.

I then revert to the following code:

query="call logs.usp_log_steps(?,?,?)"
args=[nr_caldera,prev_step,curr_step]
system.db.runPrepUpdate( query, args)

and all is working correctly.
A couple of questions:

• is it really not possible to call a procedure as in the first example?
  • If I have OUT parameters and I’m forced to go the second way, how can I get the returnig values back?
  • Going this second way, how can I define parameters types? Are they inferred from the Python variables types? As I can see, that could be a problem: a procedure of mine has a smallint parameter, but the calling python code wants that parameter to be of type integer, causing an exception to be thrown.

Thanks in advance, regards

Seems like a bug. { I haven't deployed any pg11 yet.... }

I found a bug when inserting DECIMAL types; most likely is the MSSQL JDBC’s fault.

So I created a very simple proof of concept where I call system.db.runPrepUpdate, system.db.runUpdateQuery, and system.db.execSProcCall for MSSQL, MySQL, and PostgreSQL.