Docker Image & SQL Server

So I’m brand new to Docker (first time trying to utilize any container type system).
I have been able to get the current Ignition image up and running in Docker.
Now I’m a little stuck on setting up a database to do some testing.
Searching the inter-webs doesn’t provide a solution on how to install SQL Express in my newly running Docker/Ignition container. I’m not 100% sure that is even the way to go or possible.
When using this image, would I need to install the DB engine in the container or would I have to download and setup another image that contains SQL Express?
Any guidance on getting this to a running state that I can use for some local testing (I’m needing to do testing with a tablet to try to Id an issue we are having with dropdowns not working properly in Perspective on tablets using the Perspective App) would be appreciated!
Thanks.

I think taking a look here at some of these examples might help

2 Likes

It would be possible to install a DB in a container, or construct a derived image that had both Ignition and MSSQL in it. I would not recommend it, and it’s basically the opposite of ‘idiomatic’ Docker.

“Idiomatic” Docker would be one application per container, since essentially Docker is “just” a way to run a particular process in isolation. So it makes sense to separate the dependencies for MSSQL from Ignition, for instance, since they have nothing in common (and that way, a problem in one container is as easy to fix as swapping the container).

There are several options for “orchestration” of multiple containers; this is where you’ll hear of things like Docker compose, Docker swarm, Kubernetes, etc. Compose is probably a good level of abstraction for most things people would do with Ignition containers; Kubernetes is a big enough hammer to swing at many servers running multiple containers, not a single server running a few containers.