Ignition repo now with branches

In the past, I’ve shared with this community the Ignition repo I maintain over at GitHub, and in the past couple of weeks, I’ve been experimenting with branches.

So now I have main, 7.9, and jython.

main

Includes all system.* scripting functions included in version 8.0.16, as well as java/javax stubs in cases where Java cannot be installed. Project interpreter: Python 2.7.18.

Includes all system.* scripting functions included in version 7.9.16, as well as java/javax stubs in cases where Java cannot be installed. Project interpreter: Python 2.7.18.

jython

Includes all system.* scripting functions included in version 8.0.16. Project interpreter: Jython 2.7.1.

And in no way I am a Java expert, so please excuse any/all blunders.

How do I clone a branch in particular?

# main
git clone --single-branch --branch main https://github.com/thecesrom/Ignition.git

# jython
git clone --single-branch --branch jython https://github.com/thecesrom/Ignition.git

# 7.9
git clone --single-branch --branch 7.9 https://github.com/thecesrom/Ignition.git

Just want the code?

You may download the source code for any version here: https://github.com/thecesrom/Ignition/releases

I intend to keep it up to date, as long as work permits.

2 Likes

Geeze this is quite thorough.

I could definitely see it being useful to add the ability to write unittests for your project scripts, as in 8+ they are just stored as .py files in the project folder.

Really if there was a way to write unit tests directly within Ignition and utilize the builtin libraries that way it would be fantastic, but unfortunately I understand its not necessarily easy due to the way the unittest module has to be called.

Either way good work!

1 Like

As much as I like the idea of the Designer as an IDE, I don’t think it is technically possible.